Visit the church of Bunyola and explore the treasury inside
The parish church of Bunyola, dedicated to Saint Matthews, is unavoidable when visiting Bunyola. If not entering the church, enjoy it’s beautiful exterior from one of the cafes surrounding the church.
After the Catalan conquest of Mallorca, in the years 1229-31, the parish of Bunyola was founded by dean of Terragona, Ferrer de Pallarès.
The first documentation of a church in Bunyola, dates back from 1248 by the name of Santa Maria de Bunyola. The church construction you see today, is build on foundation of two former churches, both expansions of the first modest little church from 1248.
On initiative of rector, Simó Masroig, the bell tower of the church was added in 1750, with a height of 30,5 metres. The massive transept, was finished between 1755 and 1786, and has a length of 36 metres and width of 12 metres.
The overall style of the church is Baroque basilica. The apses is characterized by the Roman vaults, while the side chapels are in Gothic style. The detailed Baroque main entrance, was made by sculptor, Andreu Carbonell, and has a motif of Saint Mateu, patron saint of Bunyola.
In the bottom of the apses, there is a beautiful wooden altarpiece, gold plated. This altarpiece, was made by sculptor, Andreu Torrens, and has an image of Virgin Mary with an apple in her hand, as a symbol of fertility.
The rectory, which is an extension of the church construction, has painted tiles, displaying an image of Jesus’ and Mary’s hearts.
|Working days||19:00 h|