The story of the mill and stone cross
The stone cross is made in a beautiful baroque style, made of sandstone with an octagonal stem. You can still clearly see the date 1680 inscripted, which was the year of construction.
The main level is also octagonal with eight figurines of angels incised, unfortunately in bad state. The cross used to mark the village border of Llubí.
During the Middle Ages, this exact place was used for the blessing of crops and fruits. Peasants would come here to pray for a blessed harvest.
The mill of Son Rafal is still in use. Most recently, the mill was used for the production of noodles.
This little square in Llubí is a great spot for enjoying a refreshment while taking in the many impressions and feeling the history of this place tell itself.
Get directions to Son Rafal in Llubí
Llubí is a small and charming village, and an area with a great location between countryside and mountains allowing for many different activities. Llubí is predominately an agricultural area with its main activities in capers and olives, but is also renown for its traditions within honey production, which is celebrated with an annual festival every autumn. Llubí offers a nice handful of Points of interest such as the hilltop chapel of Sant Crist de la Salut del Remei, the parish church of Sant Fileu and the ancient Talayotic settlement Talaiots des Racons, all testify to the many eras the area has gone through over time and created the cultural heritage we enjoy today.
More Points of Interest in Llubí