Santanyí local travel guide
Discover the local area, things to do, points of interest to see and cultural heritage of Santanyí on this page.
Things to see and do in Santanyí
PARC NATURAL DE MONDRAGÓ
Parc Natural de Mondragó, is a natural park comprising almost 800 ha of wild Mediterranean flora and fauna waiting to be explored by you. The park is made up of two scenic coves surrounded by a great variety of ecosystems: beach, rocky coast, dunes, ponds, mountain under and pine forests, traditional cultivation and very diverse species. There are two eminent beaches in the park of silky soft sand and crystal clear low water.
Natural spaces, beaches
S’Almunia is a natural space that has been used and inhabited by by our ancestors thousands of years, it carries a great cultural and natural heritage worth experiencing.
Points of Interest
PARISH CHURCH OF SANT ANDREU
The parish church of Santanyí stands out at the end of the main street in the heart of the yellow town. Inside, you can enjoy the impressive organ and altarpiece, both brough here from the former Dominican convent in Palma, and, the el Roser chapel that was actually the old church of the town prior to the construction of this temple.
Following a number of brutal attacks by pirates, the people of Santanyí demanded a wall to constructed to protect the town, and in 1571, it was completed. Today, the remain of the wall is the main gate and former prison that was actually in use up until 1980.
Es Pontas has become a landmark and an icon of the area of the southern coast of Mallorca. This uniquely horseshoe-shaped rock erects from the water between Cala Santanyí and Cala Llombards, and is a wonder of nature.
With a floor plan of 26 meters, this fortress was built in 1740 to protect the area from pirates. It overlooks the sea from its position in Cala Llonga (Cala d’Or), from where it could shoot with canons against hostile vessels.
SANTUARI DE LA MARE DE DÉU DE LA CONSOLACIÓ
Chapels, religious architecture
This old abandoned chapel used to serve as a place for farmers to pray for rain, and later, a place to take refuge from the many pirate attacks. The sanctuary is situated in 205 meters altitude on the hill of same name, offering the most magnificent panoramic views over the south-east coast. Every year, there are two masses held here. This is a point of interest for the hikers and walkers, as it can not be reached by car.
TORRE D’EN BEU
Watchtowers, Military architecture
Torre de’n Beu is a great example of one of the many watchtowers that was erected in the 16th century to help keep the area safe. The tower communicated via smoke signals to the neighboring towers to alarm the inhabitants.
TORRE D’EN BASSA
Watchtowers, Military architecture
Well-preserved watchtower overlooking the bay from its position in Portopetro. It was constructed in the 17th century due to the fear of pirate raids.
TORRE NOVA DE SA ROCA FESA
Watchtowers, Military architecture
Another watchtower built in the 17th century as a response to the pirate raids in the area. From the tower, you can enjoy the stunning views of the sea.
Markets, fairs and festivities
Weekly market in Santanyí
Santanyí celebrates two weekly markets; Wednesday and Saturday.
Annual fairs, festivities and events
There are a number of annual events held all over the municipality which celebrate the local and regional traditions.
The celebration of Sant Antoni is perhaps the most beloved tradition in Mallorca. On the day of Sant Antoni, January 17, animals and pets are blessed, as Sant Antoni is protector of domestic animals and has a special place in the hearts of villagers from the traditional rural areas. But already on the night before, January 16, the entire town is lit with bonfires and there are dances and musical performances in the streets.
Where: Santanyí, Calonge
When: January 16 and 17
Being the driest municipality on the island with less than 400 mm of yearly rainfall, the farmers has tradition of venerating Santa Escolàstica and pray for the rain to come. This tradition is kept in modern times, and on the Sunday closest to February 10, a mass is held in the Sanctuary of Consolation.
Where: Sanctuary of Consolation
When: Sunday closest to February 10
Day of the Sanctuary of Consolation
A solemn mass is celebrated, psalms are sung to the Virgin and fruits are blessed with the Holy Cross.
Where: Sanctuary of Consolation
When: First Sunday of March
Festes de Sant Josep
Sant Josep (Saint Joseph) is the patron saint of the village, and honored with a religious ceremony on March 19. Along with the ceremony there are several fun and cultural activities held in the village.
Where: S’Alqueria Blanca
When: March 19
Festes de Carme
Our Lady of Mount Carmel is protector of seamen, hence celebrated in the old port of Santanyí, Cala Figuera. The program has expanded throughout the years to include the entire week leading up to the actual day and, made it more interesting to both locals and tourists. On the day itself, you can experience a great procession at sea which is very beautiful.
Where: Cala Figuera
When: July 16th
Festes de Sant Jaume
Santanyí celebrates the summer with a week of fun and cultural activities held up to the 25th of July. Actually, this is a celebration of the first stone laid of the parish church of Sant Andreu. The program comprise a range of concerts, exhibitions, contests, games, demonstrations, gastronomical experiences and workshops for the youngest.
When: July 25
Festivitat de Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo is the patron saint of the village of Es Llombards, and honored on August 8 with a celebration. The week leading up to August 8th will have a fun program of activities for all ages including popular races, food, workshops, concerts and much more.
Where: Es Llombards
When: August 8th
Festivitat de Santa Maria del Mar
During the first two weeks of August, Cala d’Or celebrates Santa Maria del Mar with a great festival. During these two weeks, you can look forward to a range of fun and interesting events and activities for young and adults. There will be concerts, games, open.air dinners and a great market held in the evenings in the streets. On August 15, the day of Santa Maria del Mar, you can see a wonderful procession at sea.
Where: Cala d’Or
When: August 15
Festes de Sant Roc
Sant Roc (Saint Roch) is commemorated in the village of s’Alqueria Blanca in the week surrounding the 16th of August. This festival is popular during the sumnmer where multiple events and activities are included in the program.
Where: S’Alqueria Blanca
When: August 16th
Festes de Sant Miquel
Sant Miquel (Saing Michael) is the patron saint of the small village of Calonge, and is celebrated with a week of festivities leading up to September 29th. This festival offers a great program of typical Mallorcan traditions, such as games, contests, popular folklore dances and concerts, open-air dinners and, a fishing contest.
When: September 29th
Fira de Santanyí
Santanyí autumn fair is the perfect place and time to discover some of the “real” Mallorca and what lies behind the beautiful beaches. The entire town participates in creating a vibrant atmosphere around the hundreds of stands set up in the streets. There will be contests, demonstrations, gastronomical experiences, folk dancing, musical performances and a great big craft market. This is one of the most popular autumn fairs in the Migjorn region, absolutely worth stopping by.
When: Third Saturday of October
Festes de Sant Andreu
Sant Andreu (Saint Andrew) is celebrated on November 30th in Santanyí in honor of the parish church dedicated to this saint. Throughout the entire week, a full program of fun and cultural activities is held in the town. It all peaks on the day of the saint with a solemn mass.
When: November 30th
Festivitat de la Immaculada Concepció
During the beginning of December, the small village of Es Llombards celebrate its patron saint, Our Lady of Immaculate Conception. This is a great time to visit as you will experience a series of traditions and see how the locals celebrate in typical Mallorcan style.
Where: Es Llombards
When: December 8th
About the area of Santanyí
Santanyí is a town and municipality located in the south-eastern region of Mallorca called Migjorn. The municipality covers a surface of 12.439,76 ha with 4.143,82 ha of those being protected areas. Beside from the town of Santanyí, the municipality also comprise the population centers of Alqueria Blanca, Cala d’Or, Es Llombards, Cala Llombards, Cala Santanyí, Cala Figuera, Calonge, Portopetro, Cap d´es Moro, Son Moger and La Costa. As of 2018, the total population of the municipality is 12.112 inhabitants.
Villages and hamlets in the municipality
There are a number of cute little villages, hamlets and areas to discover within the municipal border of Santanyí.
S’Alqueria Blanca (The White Farmstead), is a small village built in the location of a Muslim farmstead dating from around the 10th century. S’Alqueria Blanca is found about 5 km from Santanyí town, on the way to Cala d’Or and Portopetro. The village started to be populated in the 18th century, after the treats of pirate raids had decreased. The church is built on top of a former watchtower.
Calonge is located between s’Alqueria Blanca and Cala d’Or. The village goes back to the 13th century when the land was owned by the Valentí de ses Torres family, including Bartomeu Valentí, canon of La Seu. However, the area was already inhabited during the Talayotic culture (1,100 BC – 123 BC) and perhaps even before that. The neo-Romantic church from the beginning of the 20th century stands out, a project by Antoni Maria Alcosser that was blessed by Bishop Campins in 1909.
Es Llombards & Cala Llombards
Es Llombards is a village located on the municipal border between Santanyí and ses Salines. It is a cute little sleeping village comprising about 600 inhabitants set in rural surroundings. To the village comes the coastal area of Cala Llombards, an area popular by tourists and summer residents seeking tranquility near the sea. Cala Llombards is set between Cala Santanyí and s’Almonia, and started developing in the middle of the 1960’s Rafal Vidal Perelló built the first house here. From 1969, the urbanization began to develop from the lands of the Son Amer estate, promoted by Blai Vidal Salom.
Cala Santanyí is located between Cala Figuera and Cala Llombards in a scenic little cove surrounded by rocky cliffs and pine trees. The urbanization of Cala Santanyí began in the 1920’s, when the fishing industry started to develop in a fast pace. From the 1960’s, the real development of the area began coinciding with the tourist boom. The first tourist establishment in Cala Santanyí was the bar Es Torrent followed by the Hotel Cala Santanyí in 1961.
Cala Figuera is formed by the coves of Boira and Busquets, and used to be the port of Santanyí. Already in 1306, there was documentation of a small hamlet here, however, it was not until the end of the 19th century that the first of the current houses was built. The port was already taken in use in the middle ages, used for loading the famous Santanyí stone on ships to be transported to Naples, Palma and Catalonia. In the middle of the 19th century, the priest José Burgesa and the doctor Bernat Escalis promoted the first boat storage shack here. A church was built in 1938, but later converted to a restaurant. From 1963, Cala Figuera has served as a tourist center.
The area of Portopetro used to belong to the estate of Sa Punta. In the beginning of the 20th century the lands of Sa Punta started to parcel and plots were sold to private investors, mainly fishermen who had made good money from smuggling, this was the foundation of the population nucleus. On May 27, 1954, the first stone of the church was laid.
Cala d’Or is the youngest yet most popular tourist center in the municipality of Santanyí. The town was founded in 1932 by Josep Costa, an Ibizan fisherman whom named it Cala d’Hort according to a cave of Ibiza. In 1956, Costa donated a plot to build the current church, which was constructed in Ibizan style, just like many of the other houses. Folklorist Antoni Mulet, painters Olegari Junyent and Anglada Camarassa, as well as Nataixa Rambowa, widow of Rodolfo Venlentino, are just some of the people who come from Cala d’Or. Ever since the 1960’s, Cala d’Or has expanded remarkably in size and population, and has grown to become the most important tourist center in the south-eastern Mallorca.
History of Santanyí
Prehistory and Talayotic culture
The first vestiges of human occupation within the municipal border of current day Santanyí date from the Bronze Age, around 2,000 BC. Some of the most remarkable remains of this time is seen in the caves of Cala Santanyí and es Pontas. These derive from a time known as the pre-Talayotic, because as you will read later, one of the most significant prehistoric periods to the Balearic Islands is associated with the Talayotic culture.
The Talayotic, or Talaiotic, culture refers to a period of Mallorca and Menorca from around 1,100 BC to 123 BC. The name has been given to this culture because of the construction of towers, lookouts, which in Catalan is called “talaias”. Some of the best examples of Talayotic constructions found in Santanyí include the ones of coves del Rei, Can Simonet, n’Ebrí, es Loret Vell, Son Danús, Son Talaies de Ca Jordi, es Rafal des Porcs or Son Rossinyol.
Particularly the Rafal des Porcs is an interesting find, as it clearly showcases the remains of an entire enclosed village. But also the Sa Talaia Grossa is worth noting, another walled enclosure located close to the natural caves of Drac with an inland freshwater lake.
The Talayotic constructions belonging to the site of Son Danús was declared an Artistic and Historical Monument in 1946. It is located next to the main road that connects Santanyí with Palma.
A final Talayotic settlement to mention, is the one of Son Talaies de Ca Jordi, a walled enclosure considered one of the largest on the island.
The latter three sites have been the most excavated and have found indigenous and Roman pottery, Roman tombstones, small bronze statues, bones, coins and stones with cave engravings.
The Talayotic culture was introduced on the island when the first colonizers from ancient Greece and Carthage found their way to the archipelago in the Mediterranean. It was known that the area in the western Mediterranean and Europe was rich of metals, which triggered the tradesmen of these ancient worlds to start exploring.
The new settlers mixed with the indigenous peoples, who had been living a somewhat peaceful life on the island. The indigenous peoples from the pre-Talayotic period mainly lived in natural and artificial caves, or in houses built in a style known as “naviforms” due to their vessel shaped structure. However, with the introduction of the Talayotic culture, the whole idea of communities and habitations changed from solely being a place to have shelter to have a defensive functionality with the towers and walls.
The mixture of Phoenician and indigenous warriors created a new “super soldier” of the ancient world, the Balearic foner. The foners are mentioned in chronicles of the wars in the Italian peninsula and in the Punic Wars fighting against the Roman army. They were highly skilled in slinging, hence they are popularly known as “Mallorcan slingers”, due to their high accuracy and impressive distance in their shots.
The First Roman occupation
In 123 BC, Roman general and consul Quintus Caecilius Metellus conquered the island. The strategic location of Mallorca would allow the Romans to safely engage in sea trade and use the naval route as a shortcut between the Italian and Iberian peninsulas when traveling.
Metellus had studied the island, but more importantly, he had studied the slingers and knew of their strength and capabilities. The Mallorcan slingers did not only crush bones, they sunk ships with the projectiles from their slingshots. Metellus then came up with the idea to strap leather around his ships to function as a protective shield against the projectiles of the slingers, which would allow him to get close enough to the shores to disembark his troops.
After fighting down the initial resistance of the Balearic warriors, a long and protracted journey began to find the indigenous people who had retrenched themselves in the Talayotic villages and caves all over the island. Eventually the entire island was conquered and the Balearic foners became part of the Roman army. In fact, they are mentioned by Ceacar in the war against the Germanics in 56 BC, as a part of the elite troops fighting alongside the horsemen. This again proves the uniqueness of these island warriors.
Following the successful campaign, Metellus was commemorated with the nickname “Balearicus”.
The Romans built the two main cities of Pol-lentia (current day Alcúdia) and Palma/Palmera, whereof the first was the capital. The Romans also left their mark in the area of Santanyí i.e. the funaral caves of sa Marededéu where several Roman funerary gifts have been discovered. The Roman village that was here, was probably located in the lands of Son Danús and Calonge. Figures and ceramics have also been discovered in the areas of Cas Traginer or in Són Cosme Ponç.
Archaeological studies suggests that the Romans made a division of the lands, like small neighborhoods in their village. Their way of life was based on agricultural activities and possibly exploitation of maritime resources.
Under Islamic rule
In 902 the archipelago came under the Emirate of Cordoba, ruled by the Umayyad dynasty. It was Issam al-Khawlaní, whom during a pilgrimage to Baghdad discovered the Balearics and after a successful conquest, he was awarded the title of walí (governor) of the island.
Following the foundation of Madīna Mayūrqa, current day Palma, the island was divided in twelve administrative districts, the so-called “ajzà” (singular: Juz). At that time, the area of the current day Santanyí town was called Adeia, a farmstead that belonged under the Juz of Manacur, a district that also comprised Felanitx, Manacor, Sant Llorenç, Ses Salines, Campos and Porreres.
The Moors lived in tribes and small communities scattered in the countryside, with cultivation of cereals as the main activity. The farmsteads was known as “alquerias” and the cottages as “rafals”. In the farmstead of Alqueria Blanca (a hamlet that has preserved its name from this period), the main mosque of the area was located. Other farmsteads and place names that has survived throughout the centuries are Albocora, S’Almunia, Benilassar (Son Danús), Binigebidi (Rafal des Porcs) or Mandalmar (es Llombards).
The Catalan-Aragonese conquest
In the years between 1229 and 1232, the Catalan-Aragonese alliance led by King Jaume I of Aragón, conquered Mallorca from the Moors. It began with the siege of Madīna Mayūrqa in September, that was brutally plundered and bathed in blood by the ruthless Christian troops, no one was spared. Those Moors not killed were taken as slaves or managed to flee to the mountains of Tramuntana or Llevant.
The areas of Santanyí and Felanitx were some of the last places to be conquered by the Christians. The protagonist of these campaigns, was the count of Roussillon and Sardinia, Nunó Sanç, whom in return for his major effort was granted these areas, along with several other lands in Mallorca, as reward. Following the death of Nunó Sanç in 1242, his lands returned to King Jaume I, whom them sold the lands to knights and nobles. In 1289, Berenguer Danús was documented owner of the biggest estate, the Son Danús, which was the former Moorish farmstead of Benilassar, and one of the most important estates in the history of Santanyí due to its production of cereals.
The new Christian rulers were quick to demolish the mosque in the area and establish a chapel to serve the crowing congregation coming from Catalonia to settle. The first primitive church was built in the years between 1248 and 1265, dedicated to Santa Maria de Santanyí, and, located in the current day Placeta de la Canal.
After the conquest of Mallorca, the king wrote the Llibre del Repartiment de Mallorca (Book of Division of Mallorca), a documentation of the division of the lands of Mallorca. In this documentation, the name Sancti Aini appears for the first time. Etymologists suggest that the name could derive from the Latin “Sancti Agni” meaning something like “Holy Lamb“, hence the lamb in the town’s crest.
The foundation of Santanyí
In the year 1300, King Jaume II of Mallorca promulgated a set of ordinances which founded twelve towns on the island. These ordinances prescribed a set of rules that was made to establish a societal structure and make it easier to collect taxes for the monarchy.
Each settler had to purchase 3.55 ha of arable land, 7.10 ha of garrigue and a quarter of land (1,775 m2) in the new town, where he had to build a houses and move to live here within the next half year. For a possession like this, the settler would pay a tithe and a cash census (tax).
The ordenadors (the person in charge of effectuating the ordinances), were required to designate 355 ha of land and 710 ha of garrigue. The owners of these lands were then obliged to establish them to the new settlers, the so-called “acaptadors”, in exchange for a tax paid in metal determined by the ordenadors.
With the new ordinances also declared the premises of what should be included and the delimitation of the perimeter of the town and the affected areas. Previous design patterns of small villages and functional delimitation of the arable territory, as well as the extent of garrigues, determined the location of the town.
In regards to the creation of the town, the width of the streets was set to measure 6.3 meters, the center of the town should be enforced by a protective wall or other fortified enclosure, and, the total perimeter of the town was expected to occupy no more than about 17.76 ha.
It was the ordenadors who was responsible for defining the space needed, to drawn the streets and make sure to provide necessary infrastructure such as water supply in the community spaces. Surrounding the fortified town center, several neighborhoods would by established.
In 1311, the king inserted the first ever royal mayor in Santanyí, Ramon Albert. Santanyí was one of the towns with the most rapid population increase, already in 1229, 570 inhabitants was recorded plus their slaves. In 1427, 4.8% of the local population was slaves.
It was also in the beginning of the 14th century that the second church of Santanyí was constructed, in the same place of the current church. The chapel of Roser inside is actually the old primitive church, which in 1390 was fortified as seen on the exterior.
The pirate attacks
One of the biggest treats of Santanyí, was the pirate raids that happened in the 16th and 17th century. One of the main triggers of these raids, was the approach of the Ottoman empire trying to capture parts of the western Mediterranean. The Ottomans paid privateers from North Africa to attack the coastlines of Mallorca. The pirates took shelter on the small island of Cabrera south of Mallorca, from where they could easily plan their raids.
One of the most notable attacks on Santanyí happened on October 3rd, 1531, when pirates invaded and sacked the town. Civilians took refuge inside the old fortified church, but many was kidnapped by the pirates or killed.Again in 1546, the pirates attacked and kidnapped 36 people, who was returned after their families paid premium ransoms.
As a response to the numerous attacks, watchtowers and other defense works was established along the coastal line of Santanyí. The function of the watchtowers was to spot enemy vessels in the bay and then via smoke signal alarm the next tower that, would then light a fire and alarm the inhabitants. All in all, more than 40 different defense structures was constructed, some of them demolished today. In the hills rising behind Santanyí, a bit west of the Alqueria Blanca hamlet, you will find the fortified Santuari de la Mare de Déu de Consolació (Sanctuary of Our Lady of Consolation), built around 1523 in 205 meters altitude as a refuge for the population.
Because of the insecurity and vulnerable position of the town, the town faces a massive depopulation in these years, more than 40 families left after the attack in 1531. After the second attack in 1546, the inhabitants demanded a city wall to be created to protect them. As of 1571, a wall was constructed to protect the urban core of Santanyí. The wall started down Bisbe Verger Street, followed by Rafelet Street, continued along La Paz Street, passing the Rectoria (rectory) and El Roser (church), and finally, the Porta Murada (wall gate). The Porta Murada was the main entrance gate to the town, and at the same time served as a prison and guard tower. Up until 1980, the prison cell inside was still in use.
Some of the important watchtowers in Santanyí, was the Torre En Beu in Cala Figuera (1569), Torre Nova de sa Roca Fesa in Cala Santanyí (17th century) and Torre d’en Bassa in Portopetro (17th century).
In 1740, the fort of Cala Llomga was added to the military defense system. It is 26 meters wide, and was equipped with canons and armed soldiers.
The Caciquism period
In 1868, Santanyí faced a revolt of the citizens which led to a destruction of the municipal archive and a lot of disturbance in the town. What triggered the revolt, was when local politician Joan Verger i Tomàs, also known as “sa Geneta”, suddenly had too much power, which he abused for personal winning. He was accused of having too much influence on the social and economic life in Santanyí during a period when the caciquism was exercised in Santayí (1868-1936). This is one of the only and most significant examples of Caciquism seen on the island. Professor of the University of the Balearic Island, Cristòfol-Miquel Sbert, have written a 300-page book on this specific subject.
The smugglers paradise
From the late 19th century, Santanyí became a transit central for cigarettes and other contraband. Sailors from Santanyí established connect6ions in Algiers from where they bought cheap tobacco and smuggled it back to Mallorca. The tobacco market was widely dominated by the Tabacalera (formerly Compañía Arrendataria de Tabacos) company that was bureaucratically well-organized, making it impossible for any competition to enter the market.
In 1880, the sailor Antoni Amengual “Fasol” was one of the protagonists, or pioneers, in trafficking tobacco. He soon established a network involving honest businessmen, farmers and sailors, who participated in the process of smuggling tobacco from the port of Santanyí (current day Cala Figuera) to Palma. Smugglers used cars with fake license plates so that the police did not see they came from Santanyí. The poverty of the people made it in everyone’s interest to help the smugglers, who, in return shared some of the profit and catch. They even bribes the local police with all kinds of loot and merchandise.
One day, a certain Mr. March arrived by car in Santanyí in search for tobacco. He saw the potential of this undercover smuggling business, and in Fasol, he saw a compliant and risky skipper to start an adventure with. March’s great sense for business soon proved itself worthy for the sailors of Santanyí, as their salaries was almost doubled in just a few years covering naval routes between the Balearics, North Africa and several ports on the Iberian coast.
Towards the end of his career, Fasol turned his interest to building boats. Based on an experience he had one time in Alicante, he built two boats, each had one end of a trawling net attached to it, and together the two boats pulled the trawling net. He called this boat the “Ox Boat”. This fishing technique improved the amount of catches and gave rise to a new market of delivering fresh fish to the interior of the island. Soon, all villages of the island had access to fish which became a part of the local diets.
With the increased inability to trade tobacco, the sailors ceased to be smugglers and instead invested their money in the fishing industry or in acquisition of lands. An example of this is Cala d’Or, a tourist colony project devised by the Ibizan Josep Costa.
The demographic change
From the beginning of the 20th century there was a great emigration from Santanyí, partly forced by the wars, and, in 1925, ses Salines segregated to become an independent municipality. Another incident that caused a decline in the population was the Spanish Flu of 1918.
From the 1950’s, the advent of tourism changed the scene. The Cala d’Or project attracted European holidaymakers, and people from the Iberian peninsula, especially from the south, who was attracted by the great job opportunities.
From the 1980’s the tourism industry really took off, and already in 1984, there was a total of 6,557 hotel beds. Already from 1981, 4,226 holiday homes was recorded in the municipality. The resorts of Cala Santanyí, Cala Llombards and Cala Figuera soon followed.
The tourism industry also gave the economy a new dimension. Before commercial fishing was practiced, cultivation of dry soil and stoneware was the main drivers in the local economy.
Location & Map
From Palma International Airport
More destinations to discover and explore in the Migjorn region
Migjorn covers the south and south-eastern areas of Mallorca. Migjorn offers some of the most beautiful beaches of the island, both golden and white sandy beaches are to be found in the many coves around the coastlines. With exception of Cala d’Or, the Migjorn region mainly attracts an adult audience looking for tranquil surroundings close to nature and the local soul of the areas.
Cala Figuera is among the most picturesque holiday destinations in the southeastern Mallorca. This charming small fishing village offers a scenic and romantic holiday destination for couples and friends coming for an escape from mass-tourism or a romantic get-away. Cala Figuera is a great choice of holiday destination if nature and activities should be combined with romance.
Cala Llombards is an outlandish and tranquil holiday destination, perfect for the self-catering holidaymaker who appreciates sea views and seclusion from mass tourism. Cala Llombards is a rather small and quiet destination, where you will find accommodation in a villa or flat with stunning location and views close to the many golden coves in the area. Choose Cala Llombards for a holiday base in solitude.
Cala Santanyí is a picturesque and charming little holiday destination located in the south-east corner of Mallorca in a scenic cove. Cala Santanyí mainly attracts an adult audience seeking a romantic setting with direct access to the beautiful unspoiled Mediterranean nature.Accommodation in Cala Santanyí includes a few charming adult hotels and a selection of charming holiday villas and flats with great views.
Campos is the most southern municipality of Mallorca. The area includes the very popular natural beach of es Trenc, some very charming rural countryside districts and of course the many delicious restaurants found here. Campos town itself is a quiet and pastoral village surrounded by beautiful rural landscapes, where you will find the best accommodation here in a rustic finca with pool and modern amenities, perfect for couples and friends.
Colónia de Sant Jordi
Colónia de Sant Jordi is a rather small holiday resort located in the south area of Mallorca, in the municipality of Ses Salines. Colónia de Sant Jordi is build up around a marina and fishing harbour, adding some authenticity to the resort. The resort mainly attracts an adult audience and the accommodation offers reflects the needs of a child-free holiday base in the south of Mallorca.
Felanitx is an area of many faces, located on the east side of Mallorca. Felanitx offers a wealth of cultural activities and historical places of interest. The area is crowned by the iconic monastery of Sant Salvador, offering breathtaking panoramic views overlooking the entire east coast of Mallorca. Accommodation in Felanitx includes charming rural fincas and villas ready to offer the perfect frame for couples and friends traveling to the beautiful area of Felanitx.
Llucmajor is a very big area, which includes as well popular beach areas as traditional Mallorcan town life. Llucmajor is located just east of Palma, it starts in the bay of Palma, and follows the southern coastline to the beach of Sa Rapita. Llucmajor exhibits a former wealthy area of Mallorca, hence the many beautiful architectural pearls and manor houses in the local area. Accommodation offers in Llucmajor ranges from luxury finca hotels to charming flats and villas in the countryside. Llucmajor is especially loved by golfers and cyclists who come to enjoy the unique location of this destination.
Portocolom has always been known as a destination focusing on the best things in life; great food, beautiful sea views and romantic settings. Portocolom is the perfect place to enjoy the scenic Mallorcan southeast coast, it offers both beaches, charming harbor area and good infrastructure. Portocolom as a holiday destination in the Southeast of Mallorca, is an obvious choice for so many reasons and the accommodation offers here are almost impossible to filter, because they are all so wonderful.
Portopetro is a charming and picturesque little marina situated in a scenic cove in the southeastern corner of Mallorca. The picturesque area was also the reason that famous Danish architect, Jørn Utzon, built two homes in the nearby area. Portopetro is renown for its romantic attraction force and the wild Mediterranean nature areas that enhance the feeling of peace. Portopetro is an obvious choice for a romantic escape for couples looking for a tranquil holiday destination in the south-east corner with good access to roads and unspoiled nature.
Ses Salines has its name from the enormous salt mines that has predominated the industry of this area already back from the Bronze Ages. The salt of Ses Salines was believed by the Romans to have a healing effect on the body why a recreation resort with natural salt baths were created here. Ses Salines is a wonderful area that combines the best of Mallorcan beaches and the charm of the rural countryside, resulting in a versatile area that attracts a broad audience.