History of Miramar

Miramar is, along with the possession of Son Marroig and Real Cartuja, one of the most important properties in the history of the Tramuntana-region.

Miramar was initially constructed by the Cistercian order of the Monestir la Real in Palma, the property was donated to the order by Count Nunó Sanç. In 1276, Jaume II of Mallorca was requested by famous Mallorcan philosopher Ramon Llull to convert the monastery into a school of oriental languages and theology, which he granted. The monastery became inhabited by thirteen friars, and received an annual grant of five hundred gold florins. Llull himself only stayed for two years, before he in 1278 left for Rome to work alongside the pope.

At the end of the thirteenth century, the missionary school was abandoned by the friars for unknown reasons. In 1300, it was again owned by the Cistercians of Monestir la Real.

With the defeat of Jaume III of Mallorca, in 1349, Miramar, along with the rest of Mallorca, fell into the hands Peter the Ceremonious and the Crown of Aragón. A little after, some friars returned to the monastery, and later on, from 1376 to 1396, by the grant of the monks of la Real who had retained some rights over the property, two hermits came to live here.

In 1396, King Martin donated the houses, chapel and land of Miramar to two Llullists (people who studied and followed the philosophies of Ramon Llull); Joan Sanç and Nicolau Cuc. In the year 1400, their rights were ceded to the Jerome monks, who in 1443, were replaced Dominicans, until 1475.

After a few years of abandonment, Miramar was occupied by the Llullists, Bartomeu Caldentei and Francesc Prats, who with the help of Nicolau Calafat mounted the printing press here that in 1485 published the first book printed in Mallorca.

During the 16th century the usage of the school continued to decline, but still inhabited by the hermits until 1584. In 1685, Miramar passed to the Marquis of Ariany,but as it was still a royal property, in 1811, by a decree of the courts of Cadíz, it was sold to private investors.

In 1872, Archduke Lluís Salvador (Ludwig Salvador) purchased the property, restored the chapel in 1877 and commemorated Ramon Llull with several monuments.


Get directions to Miramar in Valldemossa

Valldemossa is renown for its irresistible charm and warmth that keeps dragging you in even though you have been here 100 times before, a special kind of magic. The area carries a long and rich heritage evidenced in the old Trinitat hermitage, the Miramar convent, the royal palace and the old urban core and church, however, in modern age it was the visit by Frederik Chopin and George Sand that gave fame to this village found in the most adorning valley deep in the mountains. There are a number of interesting attractions to see in Valldemossa, as well as a series of annual traditions celebrated with dances, parades and festivities for everyone.

Valldemossa hotels, things to do

More Points of Interest and things to do in Valldemossa

Real Cartuja carthusian monastery and chopin museum

Birthplace of Mallorcan saint, Catalina Tomas

Old urban core

Sant Bartomeu parish church

Coll Bardolet art exhibition

Ermita de Santissima Trinitat

More wonderful places to discover in Tramuntana


Other monasteries and convents to visit in Mallorca

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *